ASA Honors Member, Industry Achievements At 2015 'Celebration Of Excellence'

ASA Honors Member, Industry Achievements At 2015 ‘Celebration Of Excellence’

ASA-Logo-300x154The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its “Celebration of Excellence” July 22 at the GM Heritage Center in Sterling Heights, Mich. – a site near ASA’s NACE | CARS 2015 events in downtown Detroit. This traditional awards dinner honors the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners.

Dan Risley, ASA’s president and executive director, hosted the program, which opened with a candid and humorous presentation by 16-time NHRA Funny Car Champion John Force. Force was accompanied by his daughter, Brittany Force, who was the 2013 NHRA Rookie of the Year. In addition, the Automotive Management Institute (AMI), led by its new president, Jeff Peevy, recognized the 58 graduates who earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation this year.

Awards presented during ASA’s Celebration of Excellence included the following AMI scholarships:

• The Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship, received by Benno Ceyer, owner of Weimer Machine/Automotive Repair Specialists, Berwyn, Illinois.

• The BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship went to Justin Kime, office manager of Kime Collision Corp., in Standish, Michigan.

• The Arrowhead Automotive Specialty Market “High Octane” Scholarship, awarded to Taylor Hill, service consultant, Larson’s Service Inc., Peabody, Massachusetts.

• The Emil Stanley Merit Award, presented to Preston Osborn, service manager, Seyfer Automotive, Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Also presented were:

• ASA’s Phoenix Award, which recognizes an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contribution to the automotive service industry. The Phoenix Award went to Dan Stander, FIX AUTO Highlands, Littleton, Colorado.

• ASA’s Alpha Award, recognizing an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry, went to Vernon E. Menke Jr., Menke’s Automotive Repair, Newburgh, Indiana.

• The ASA Legislative Award recognizes those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities. Ray Fisher, executive director of ASA-Michigan, was recognized for his efforts to build support for Senate Bill 430, a bill that amends the insurance code to prohibit insurers from requiring automotive repairers to use a specific vendor or process to procure parts and other materials.

• The ASA Partnership Award, which recognizes an individual, group or company that has voluntarily worked with ASA to further the industry and the association. Painters Supply was honored for its above-and-beyond support of NACE | CARS 2015.

• The ASA Benefit Provider of the Year, which is presented to a sponsored benefit provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers ASA members. For the second year in a row, the award went to AutoZone. Lisa Kellett, business development manager, accepted the award on AutoZone’s behalf.

• The Chairman’s Award of Excellence recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry. This award went to Robert Redding, ASA’s Washington, D.C., representative and Dan Risley, ASA president/executive director.

ASA’s next awards program will take place in conjunction with the association’s annual trade shows – the International Autobody Congress and Exposition (NACE) and the Congress of Automotive Repair and Service (CARS). Both shows will be held Aug. 9-13, 2016, at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California.

You May Also Like

AP Emissions Unveils August New Product Announcement

10 new 46-state Federal EPA part numbers have been released.

AP Emissions is pleased to announce the release of 10 new 46-state Federal EPA part numbers covering more than 3 million vehicles in operation.

The newly released part numbers and their application coverage are:

-Part #s AP 644240 / CATCO 5447 / Eastern 30662, 2015-2019 Lincoln MKC 2.3L Front, VIO: 29,450

-Part #s AP 645141 / CATCO 9640 / Eastern 30669, 2018-2023 Ford Expedition 3.5L Right; 2018-2023 Lincoln Navigator 3.5L Right, VIO: 409,150

Hunter Engineering Expands Supply Capabilities in Missouri

Company continues to efficiently serve customers despite supply chain challenges.

Autel Adds EV Diagnostics, Maintenance to Class Roster

Classes are intended for current and potential owners of Autel EV diagnostic tablets.

SMP Expands Emission Control Program

SMP’s Emission Control program offers more than 1,500 EVAP components and 4,000 products for crankcase and EGR emissions.

Schaeffler Recognized as PACE Award Finalist

The company was named an award finalist for its eRocker System.

Other Posts

Stellantis Expands, Enhances Parts Business

Stellantis’s bproauto aftermarket parts brand is expanding to North America with 30 parts categories.

FCS Adds 57 New Numbers

All of these units are in stock and ready to ship on the FCS website.

Autel Releases 2023 ADAS Calibration Coverage

The new DTC analysis feature provides detailed fault cause possibilities, and suggested fault solutions.

SEMA Awards 80+ Scholarships, Employee Loan Forgiveness

The scholarship winners include 87 students, while 17 employees of SEMA-member companies received loan forgiveness.